Forget the pumpkin pie this holiday season

I hate pie crust. It’s true. So when my son asked me to make pumpkin pie without the crust so he could eat a lot of it (pie crust is high in both carbs and fat) I was on it! I found a recipe for a Pumpkin Pudding Pie and adapted it to suit our needs. Here’s what we came up with:

pumpkin-chia-pudding-600x500-115020

Pumpkin Pie Pudding Parfaits

1 pkg. sugar free vanilla pudding mix

1 c. fat free milk

1 15 oz can pumpkin (not the pie filling)

3 c. whipped cream (I used the Redi-whip in a can)

2 t. Splenda-sugar mix

1 t. pumpkin pie spice

1/2 t. cinnamon

1/2 t. nutmeg

Directions:

Beat the pudding mix and milk with a mixer for three minutes. Fold in pumpkin until thoroughly integrated. Chill for 20-30 min. Meanwhile, mix the Splenda and spices in a small bowl.  Layer 1/3 c. pudding mix, followed by 1/4 cup cream and then another 1/3 c. pudding in a parfait dish. Top with a dollop of whipped cream and sprinkle the spice mix on top. Serve and enjoy! Makes 8 parfaits, each containing 9 g. carbs and 6 g. fat.

The Verdict:

My son and family loved the parfaits, but we all agreed that a bit of pumpkin pie spice mixed into the pudding would improve the already yummy dessert even more. My husband, a pie fanatic, missed the crust and ended up dipping Girl Scout Trefoil cookies into his parfait. Next time I make it, I will layer crushed cookies on the bottom of his parfait.

2 thoughts on “Forget the pumpkin pie this holiday season

Add yours

  1. These look amazing! I wonder if you can use the same concept on other pies like, say, apple? I’m always looking for an excuse to eat pie and not feel guilty.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

