Type 1 and College…yikes!

19 10 2016

Thankfully, I have six more years to adjust to my son starting college. Six years to stop hovering and to get used to the fact that he is growing up and can’t live at home forever. As a mom, it’s hard to let go, but as a Type 1 mom, I harbor a lot of fear–what if his BG goes low overnight and he doesn’t wake up? What if his roommate hates him and tosses out his insulin? What if he has to take back to back classes and can’t get lunch? What if his professors are jerks (trust me, I know they exist)? What if this or that? A million things can go wrong when you are diabetic. 

This evening I came across this article about applying for disability services at college if you have Type 1. It in no way eases all my fears, but the article does help to know that my son can have at least some control over the many unknowns of going away to college when you live with Type 1.

Read the article here.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

